Something to think on this weekend:

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. 9What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

(Phil. 4:8-9)

This is one of those “cliched” verses that, I confess, I’ve rolled my eyes at before. BUT today I kept being reminded of it to the point where I finally decided to listen and wonder if perhaps there was something to this!

Meditate on this concept this weekend and think- where are your thoughts focused? Worry, despair, anxiety (What I’ve been fighting), frustration, doubt, impure things, injustices… the list go on and on, of course, but you get the idea.I’ll be honest – hubby and I have fallen into worrying and anxiety (and even a little despair) and we wind up discussing it so much, we amplify it for each other unintentionally! BUT, according to this verse, if we’d just STOP we’d have peace- peace is not going to come from fretting over things we cannot control.

We can only have peace when we focus ourselves on these things.

*Lightbulb goes off in Sarah’s Head*

So this weekend, I’m only asking you to be AWARE of where your thoughts are dwelling. Where are you focusing your time and energy? Where is your focus?

