A few days ago, my dh and I got to have a late morning in. While he did some website maintenance on his computer, I streamed some Netflix from mine onto our TV. We watched some fun things and then I made a mistake. I told him, “Sure, whatever you’d like to watch is fine with me.” (Can you hear the music yet?)

He seized on this and began my “classic horror movie education.” His movie of choice?

“It’s daytime” I reasoned. “It’s not scary at all right now. I have an entire day to get this out of my head. Besides, it’s going to be really cheesy. How bad can it be?”

So I said yes. (Music gets louder, more tense.)

Baaad Idea. The movie was predictably lame and over-acted with a terrible script, as I expected. But towards the end of the movie (particularly the bathroom scene and on) I started getting a little scared and my dh joined me on the couch to comfort me through to the end. I got through, laughed at the death throes of the villain, and we moved on with our day.

Then, night came. A series of creepy events before bed (including a crash in a completely unoccupied room of the house!) and I was sufficiently jumpy. I managed to sleep until my dh got up in the middle of the night to use the restroom. I’m apparently a light sleeper because I always wake up when he gets up. After he got back I lay there, wide awake for three turn-overs ( in my reckoning around an hour.) It took me probably about another 30 minutes to make the decision to get up and sprint down the hallway to the nearest set of lights. (It’s ALWAYS when someone splits off that there is death. I could practically HEAR the people in the audience telling me not to do it!)

I got to the living room, thoroughly spooked and listening for the tell-tale signs of a serial killer approaching and start sorting through my Netflix for something relatively fun or lighthearted and distracting.

Enter: The Justice League!


(Counter-clockwise:(Center) Batman, Aquaman, Martian Manhunter, Wonder Woman, the Flash, Green Lantern, Superman.)

I watched both Justice League movies available and was not only not afraid, but very soothed. I felt safe. As silly as that my seem the moment I tuned into the episode (ok, when Superman made his first appearance, I’ll be honest) I was not afraid anymore. Why is that? Why does a silly cartoon show suddenly convince me I’m no longer in danger? It’s an automatic response, particularly to Superman but also to the other superheroes, to a lesser degree.

Why? I think it’s because Superman is a Type- he’s a Paladin, a heroic warrior who denies himself and sacrifices himself for humanity. (He does not even belong to this group, but has adopted them and, to an extent, become one of them.) He is innately Good. He has powers far beyond the norm, but cloaks himself in humanity until the time comes to reveal himself. It’s a type you can see in various forms throughout human history and literature, a Type that I believe is embedded in the human psyche. It stirs something deep in me when I see this character anywhere.

One of the most prominent figures of this Type is Jesus Christ:

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:
Who, being in very nature God,
did not consider equality with God something to be grasped,
but made himself nothing,
taking the very nature of a servant,
being made in human likeness.
And being found in appearance as a man,
he humbled himself
and became obedient to death—
even death on a cross!
Therefore God exalted him to the highest place
and gave him the name that is above every name

Philipians 2:5-9

It is amazing to me how deep this Type is embedded into the human psyche. I am a die-hard bookworm and love literature. Who are some of your favorite Heroes? Who inspires you? If you are a Christian- what do you think of Jesus being this Heroic archetype?

Looking forward to responses!

