’tis I, your lovely dysblogger once more! Here to tell you about allt he fun things that have been keeping me away from you.

1) NaNoWriMo – As promised I’m giving my November Tyrant Project a shout-out. This year’s story is titled “Awesome” Or “Super” – I’m not sure which.

What? What’s that you say? Give us a synopsis of my story? No, I couldn’t possibly… but I will say that it involves Superheroes, Librarians, Evil Villains, sorrow, pride, familial love and maybe some romantic love on the side. πŸ™‚ I’m doing pitifully on my word count, atm, but I apparently will have to remedy that in the next few days because of #2 on my list.

2) I’m in a class called Creative Writing at school. I took said class with the understanding that I would learn a lot, have some fun and improve my writing… and with the terror that someone might actually read said writing and judge it.

Says the blogger. Yes, I know. This is different. Moving on.

So, today was the day I’d been dreading since I first read over the syllabus and that fear was confirmed- yes, people would read my story. And not only would they READ it but there would be a day in class where it was open for general discussion and critique. I know I may not come across that way to you, dear readers, but to those who don’t know me well or who I mostly see in passing I am a very shy, reserved person. I blush easily when talked to or asked a question and I generally keep my head down.

SO having that silence forcibly broken for a major grade was quite a frightening prospect. (Also- I got a C on a recent paper in that class. But that was completely my fault- it was last minute, rushed, and I didn’t even do a second draft. I take full responsibility for that one…but it certainly didn’t help the self-confidence going into today.)

Today: I wake up and check #3 on my list to see what all has been happening in my technological world. I have this post from a classmate on my facebook wall:

Just got through with your story for Creative Writing. I thought you should know, you are AWESOME. You are very talented. I love your story and I can’t wait to talk about it in class tomorrow. Great job! πŸ™‚

I about fell over. Then, in class, I got two more casual, positive comments about my story. Surprise gave way to shock, however, when we then spent the next 15 minutes discussing my story and it was GOOD. Like, lots of positive feedback and laughter and joy and puppies dancing. (seriously- there was talk of dancing puppies.)

Now, I’ll give credit where credit is due- my class is a wonderful, happy, positive place to be, especially for story critique. That was part of the instructor’s design and I think it’s great. But also- it was great because this is seriously something I was dreading and this is the first time my writing has been that exposed and vulnerable for a group like this…and to escape with such a positive experience is mind-boggling.

I’ll make this quick since I’m so very tired and starting to get freaked out about bedbugs (I’m in a hotel room atm and have a very great fear of things crawling on me.)

3) Rockmelt. If you don’t use a lot of social media, don’t use it. If you are like me, however, and fall behind keeping track of facebook and twitter and all of your blogs and favorite websites… Rockmelt is perfect for you. Watch the video- it’s easy to use (much easier than the video shows, in my opinion. The video intimidated me when I watched it.) I was without Rockmelt for an hour earlier- thinking it wasn’t working I used another browser instead. I missed it far more than I thought I would. And then I realized it was user error, not Rockmelt…and now I’m happily using it again. πŸ™‚

Those are your three things for tonight. Have a great Friday!

